I knew that I was going to be starting school on the 21st at 9am. I was never so nervous to start school. I'm just not the nervous type of person. I walked into my school, looked around, and wondered if it was too late to go back. But I knew that I couldn't do it. I couldn't do it for me, knowing I would regret not going and meeting new people. I walked to the principal. She smiled, handed me my schedule, and said good luck.
I walked up a flight of stairs to go to my first class in a Swedish school. I walked in the room. And the first thing my teacher said was,
"Oh! You must be the American. Take a seat."
I thought great even the teacher knows I'm American and I haven't even introduced myself or said where I was from. I sat next to two girls and waited for the lass to start. My teacher only talked in Swedish, which I knew was going to happen, but it was weird hearing only Swedish with no idea what was even being said. I knew she started to talk about me when she said American. People looked at me and gasped. I thought Great!! They are going to hate me or think I'm weird.
I sat there looking at the teacher thinking I have no idea what you are saying so just let me sit around and look at my complicated schedule. Two of the boys talked to me for awhile about everything. I started to feel better about being there. Then some girls asked me if it was anything like where I was from. I listed off the differences which dominated the similarities.
After sitting in class for about 3hrs, it was lunch. Potatoes, salad, and some kind of antipasti. I just took potatoes and salad. I sat with my class before leaving and heading back. Sitting there, I felt alone. No one talked to me. I thought maybe they think their English isn't good enough to speak with a native speaker. I finished lunch and walked outside.
My class was about to have Fika outside at the park. I thought it was awesome to have Fika outside on an amazing day with a bunch of new, random people. It felt like the Language camp all over again. We had Coke with cinnamon buns. It was really nice. We drank, ate, talked, and enjoyed the sun. My teacher looked at us and said,
"I'll see you all tomorrow." (In Swedish, of course.)
Sitting there I was like what class is over at 13?! (1pm). It was awesome. I biked home and sat there looking around to put my raw energy to use. I couldn't be pumped and not do anything. So I studied the TV... And Swedish. It was a really nice day.
I waited for my host mom to come home so I could see if we were doing anything. She asked if I wanted to go and see a movie. Of course I said yes! We looked up films and saw Kick Ass 2, The Heat, Pacific Rim, and Monsters U. She wanted to see either The Heat or Kick Ass 2. I had already seen The Heat, but was willing to see it again. But instead we saw Kick Ass 2.
After the movie was over, I asked my host mom what she thought of the movie. She replied,
"I think of that as a typical American movie. With action, blood, killing, big cities, motorcycles, and a really good ending."
I couldn't help, but laugh and said yes very American. I never had such a good day that included school and not understanding a single thing a teacher said or did.
No comments:
Post a Comment